forum.coppermine-gallery.net

Dev Board => cpg1.4 Testing/Bugs => cpg1.4 Testing/Bugs: FIXED/CLOSED => Topic started by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 02:49:35 am

Title: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 02:49:35 am
BUG # 1

There are lines:
Code: [Select]
  'error_uninstall' => "Couldn't uninstall plugin '%s'", //cpg1.4
  'error_sleep' => "Couldn't uninstall plugin '%s'<br />", //cpg1.4
I am 100% sure that the second one must be:
Code: [Select]
  'error_sleep' => "Couldn't shutdown plugin '%s'<br />", //cpg1.4or
Code: [Select]
  'error_sleep' => "Couldn't switch off plugin '%s'<br />", //cpg1.4
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 05:13:37 am
BUG # 2

There is code:
Code: [Select]
  array('Duration of a temporary ban after failed logins', 'login_expiry', 0, 'f=index.htm&amp;as=admin_user_login_start&amp;ae=admin_user_login_end'), //cpg1.4I think it is better to add discription that duration of ban is in minutes as the same for some other fields, like this:
Code: [Select]
  array('Duration of a temporary ban after failed logins (in minutes)', 'login_expiry', 0, 'f=index.htm&amp;as=admin_user_login_start&amp;ae=admin_user_login_end'), //cpg1.4
P.S. I know that there is help icon for this line, and that there is description there:
Quote
This value specifies the duration of the temporary ban (in minutes) after the number of failed log-in attempts specified with Number of failed login attempts until temporary ban.
But it will be better for translation purposes. So people in other languages could see description in there native language!

Thanks.
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 05:28:12 am
BUG # 3

There is code (lines 792-798):
Code: [Select]
  array('Gallery is offline', 'offline', 1, 'f=index.htm&amp;as=admin_general_offline&amp;ae=admin_general_offline_end'), //cpg1.4
);


// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
// File db_ecard.php
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //

There is unwanted space line in it.
Must be:
Code: [Select]
  array('Gallery is offline', 'offline', 1, 'f=index.htm&amp;as=admin_general_offline&amp;ae=admin_general_offline_end'), //cpg1.4
);

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
// File db_ecard.php
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Tranz on November 27, 2005, 05:33:39 am
Do you know what a bug is?
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 05:40:22 am
Do you know what a bug is?
TranzNDance
I thouhgt this is not a discussion forum. I made a translation for 1.3.x. Also I am a beta tester from 1998 year. I know what the bug is. If you want to discuss this theme, please use my PM or some other thread.
Thanks.

BUG # 4-1
There is code (lines 824-828):
Code: [Select]
  'ecards_delete_sure' => 'I\'m sure',
);


// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
// File db_input.php
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //

There is unwanted space line in it.
Must be:
Code: [Select]
  'ecards_delete_sure' => 'I\'m sure',
);

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
// File db_input.php
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //


BUG # 4-2
There is code (lines 1435-1440):

Code: [Select]
  'explanation2' => 'the user has chosen "Position descending" or "Position ascending" on the thumbail page (per user setting)', //cpg1.4
);


// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
// File pluginmgr.php //cpg1.4
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //

There is unwanted space line in it.
Must be:
Code: [Select]
  'explanation2' => 'the user has chosen "Position descending" or "Position ascending" on the thumbail page (per user setting)', //cpg1.4
);

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
// File pluginmgr.php //cpg1.4
// ------------------------------------------------------------------------- //
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 06:17:01 am
BUG # 5
There is code:
Code: [Select]
  'add_group_to_group' => 'Adding user %s to group %s. He\'s now member of %s as primary and of %s as secondary membergroup(s).', //cpg1.4I think that there is misprint in part: secondary membergroup(s).
I think that the correct one must be with extra space after "member": secondary member group(s)
So the code will look like:
Code: [Select]
  'add_group_to_group' => 'Adding user %s to group %s. He\'s now member of %s as primary and of %s as secondary member group(s).', //cpg1.4
Example of message will be:
Adding user «TEST» to group «TEST 2». He's now member of «TEST 1» as primary and of «TEST 2» as secondary member group(s).
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 06:28:49 am
BUG # 6
There is code:
Code: [Select]
  'set_player' => 'Change player',
But this one was first presented only in 1.4.* version. There is no such code for 1.3.2 or 1.3.5.
So the code must be:
Code: [Select]
  'set_player' => 'Change player', //cpg1.4
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Abbas Ali on November 27, 2005, 06:31:21 am
Definition of BUG:

Quote
An error or defect in software or hardware that causes a program to malfunction.

I don't think that above typo errors causes coppermine to malfunction.

As far as the line spacing in concerned, php script can have any number of blank lines. Line spacing doesn't cause any errors.

//1.4 is just a comment to make it easy for the devs to identify the newly added statements. How can the absence of a comment be called as a bug  ???.
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 06:47:38 am
Definition of BUG:

Quote
An error or defect in software or hardware that causes a program to malfunction.

I don't think that above typo errors causes coppermine to malfunction.

As far as the line spacing in concerned, php script can have any number of blank lines. Line spacing doesn't cause any errors.

//1.4 is just a comment to make it easy for the devs to identify the newly added statements. How can the absence of a comment be called as a bug ???.
Once again. Please!!! If you want to discuss something, please, use another thread or my PM.
I am making NEW Russian translation. I don't have time to discuss with you the word "BUG".
From my point of view I like to call it a "BUG".
If you want, you can call it an "Error" or anything you like.

As for spaces.
There is norms lile XHTML or CSS or some other.
There is some norms in english.php file which development team tries to follow.
One of them "Not to make unnecessary space lines".

Can you understand me, please. Once again. I am making NEW Russian translation for 1.4.2.
Now I pass english.php from the beginning till the end.
I meet Bugs or Errors or Misprints or "Call it as you like".
And I just comment them out in this thread, so they could be fixed in CVS.
I thought you understand this one.

As for "//1.4" tag. I am a translator. There are a lot of other translators. And every of them will tell you that "me" orient oneself by this "//1.4" tag when making translations.
I am using prog Araxis Merge and it showes me lines which are different. This "//1.4" tag helps me, my program and other translators to make translations better and quick.
Thanks.

BUG # 7
There is code:
Code: [Select]
  'ImageDescription' => ' Image Description', //cpg1.4There is an extra space before "Image."
Must be:
Code: [Select]
  'ImageDescription' => 'Image Description', //cpg1.4
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Makc666 on November 27, 2005, 08:52:59 am
BUG # 8
There is code:
Quote
  'explain_guests_greyed_out_text' => 'You can not change the properties of this group because you set the option &quot; Allow unlogged users (guest or anonymous) access&quot; to &quot;No&quot; on the config page. All guest (members of the group %s) can\'t do anything but login; therefor group settings don\'t apply for them.', //cpg1.4

1-st error in it:
&quot; Allow unlogged
there is extra space before "Allow".
Must be:
&quot;Allow unlogged

2-nd error in it:
I think that meaning of the whole sentence is broken.
Here is how it works in real time:
Why is this row greyed out?
You can not change the properties of this group because you set the option " Allow unlogged users (guest or anonymous) access" to "No" on the config page. All guest (members of the group Guests) can't do anything but login; therefor group settings don't apply for them.
As I understand when "we" set the option "Allow unlogged users (guest or anonymous) access" to "No",
this means that ONLY REGISTERED users CAN VISIT the gallery (login).
But, then we see the words:
can't do anything but login
So how they can "but login" if "we" set the option "Allow unlogged users (guest or anonymous) access" to "No"!!!???

3-rd error in it:
There are words:
therefor group settings don't apply for them
I think there is misprint in word "therefor".
It must be spelled as: "therefore".

4-th error in it:
As I said above already, I think that words:
can't do anything but login
must be spelled as:
can't do anything even login

So the final variant of the code will be:
Quote
  'explain_guests_greyed_out_text' => 'You can not change the properties of this group because you set the option &quot;Allow unlogged users (guest or anonymous) access&quot; to &quot;No&quot; on the config page. All guest (members of the group %s) can\'t do anything even login; therefore group settings don\'t apply for them.', //cpg1.4
Title: Re: english.php BUGS in 1.4.2
Post by: Joachim Müller on November 27, 2005, 11:08:05 am
1) You're late. There have been many months of beta stage. Now that we released, you're bringing up issues... ::)
2) We have a "one issue per thread" policy.
3) Those are not bugs. Some of them are cosmetical issues, some are just a misunderstanding
4) It's not a bright idea trying to tell dev team members to butt out of a thread

Thread marked accordingly and locked.