forum.coppermine-gallery.net

Dev Board => cpg1.4 Testing/Bugs => cpg1.4 Testing/Bugs: FIXED/CLOSED => Topic started by: Tranz on March 27, 2005, 12:51:35 am

Title: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: Tranz on March 27, 2005, 12:51:35 am
This was one annoying issue to hunt down... :P

When editing album properties, Firefox keeps asking about remembering the password. I kept saying No. One time, I clicked Yes by accident since it was the default.

After that, the keyword field would show the same keyword in every album. This did not affect IE.

I did two things to confirm that it is this field. I deleted the password entry in FF's password manager. I also changed the name of the field. However, it's not enough to change the field name, someone with better knowledge would need to make changes to maintain the data connection.

Hopefully having a different field name will stop the password manager prompts in FF.
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: kegobeer on March 27, 2005, 02:10:47 am
In modifyalb.php, change

Code: [Select]
<input type="password" name="$name" value="$value" class="textinput" maxlength="32" size="34">
to

Code: [Select]
<input type="password" name="$name" value="$value" class="textinput" maxlength="32" size="34" autocomplete="off">
I have no idea if autocomplete is html 4.01 or xhtml compliant, but it works.  If it isn't, then use type="text" instead of type="password".
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: Tranz on March 27, 2005, 02:29:09 am
I know it seems strange, but the issue is with the keyword field, not password. :)
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: kegobeer on March 27, 2005, 02:35:42 am
Not for me.  Once I changed the password field for the album manager, my password manager stopped popping up.
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: Tranz on March 27, 2005, 02:43:51 am
I'm not using the album password though. Here's what I did.

Edit keyword.
Clicked yes to saving password although I made no change to password.

After that, all albums showed the same keyword. However, it's not in the html source. So it's FF's password autofill feature.
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: kegobeer on March 27, 2005, 02:47:33 am
Neither am I.  It doesn't matter if the field is empty or not.  When you submit a change, the type="password" gets Firefox's attention, which causes the password manager to pop up.  Adding autocomplete="off" makes FF ignore the password field.  I Googled for the Firefox password issue and found this little trick.
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: Tranz on March 27, 2005, 02:58:34 am
Thanks, that seemed to help. I had to delete the entry in password manager. The keyword was showing up as the username in the manager.

The page still validated. :)
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: kegobeer on March 27, 2005, 03:00:50 am
Sorry, I should have told you I had to delete that entry in my password manager also.
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: Joachim Müller on April 03, 2005, 02:05:23 pm
issue solved then?

Joachim
Title: Re: album keyword and firefox password manager
Post by: Joachim Müller on April 10, 2005, 11:19:04 am
issue solved then?

Joachim
Apparently yes, so I'm marking as "fixed".

Joachim