Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error  (Read 5593 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

scohen125

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 100
    • Retina Gallery
Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« on: October 04, 2011, 12:58:57 pm »

I am willing to pay 500 dollars for help (presumably successful) in fixing a bug I got when upgrading from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16.  I am copying the two places I posted the problem on the forums.  I initially thought it was a theme problem and posted here:

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,73624.0.html

and Andre was helpful and tried my theme.php in his system and found it was not a theme problem.

Then I posted to the upgrade support board and I tried what was suggested but still have the problem:

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,73648.msg354628.html#msg354628

I have put a lot of work in on my website and I would hate to ruin it while trying to fix it.  I would appreciate anyone who could help me fix this bug so I can upgrade in the future without problems.

As far as I can tell there is a problem with my groups permission.  Even though my groups manager shows that guests to my site are not allowed to upload files or have a gallery, those menu items are appearing on the homepage of the site to non-logged in members.  It is a relatively small thing, but I would like my site to be running fine because I am getting ready to publicize it.

The website is www.RetinaGallery.com

I got the error after upgrading from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16.  The other thing I did at about that time was install the custom thumbnail plugin.  Those are the only 2 things I changed on the website.  The website is currently set to debug mode and I have created a test user with username test and password test .

I would appreciate any help.
Thanks,
Steven Cohen
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2011, 02:42:52 pm »

PM sent.

Your budget is very large but I doubt anyone would take that amount of money from you.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

scohen125

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 100
    • Retina Gallery
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2011, 02:47:11 pm »

I am not allowed to send personal messages.  Can you fix that?  I would love the help. 
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2011, 02:53:37 pm »

I can't fix that, its a site policy. I was just waiting for a reply before sending my email address.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2011, 02:13:50 pm »

If Jeff won't be able to fix your issue I'm also interested in this job :)
Logged

obagiseler

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • NeoZero
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2011, 12:11:31 am »

I gues its not much work, 500 is realy a lot  ;D
Logged
German Page: :) NeoZero

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2011, 07:03:58 pm »

This job has been completed. Steven was nice enough to let me share the solution.
I created a temporary fresh install and compared the database and discovered in the categorymap table a double entry for cid 1 that allowed guest uploads and set [can_create_public_albums] = 1. I just deleted that row and all is well.
Steven was also very prompt and generous with payment.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2011, 10:14:53 am »

Steven, do you still have a backup of your cpg1.5.8 database? I'd like to check if that double entry is repeatable while upgrading and if so, how we can fix the update procedure.
Logged

scohen125

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 100
    • Retina Gallery
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2011, 04:47:19 pm »

Andre,

I have a few backups of the database, one from June which was from before my upgrade.  Can I post the database here safely?  I can attach a zipped copy for you if you like or email it to you.  Thank you for offering the help. Jeff was amazing.  I was banging my head against the wall for 2 weeks with the problem.  I very very much appreciate the expert support available for the coppermine package.

Steve
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: Upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.16 and now have a site error
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2011, 05:22:52 pm »

PM sent.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.026 seconds with 20 queries.