Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19  (Read 8099 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« on: November 29, 2008, 06:58:35 pm »

OK so i had my site compromised by hackers and in trying to clean out their code I started the upgrade from 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
Followed instructions to use the old ablum directory, include/config.inc.php and anycontent.php.
Uploaded using dreamweaver and ran update.php. No messages - just a blank screen. Same for any other php
Read through the forum for past posts and so.....
So cleared cache and cookies and tried again.
Uploaded using smartftp in case dreamweaver was like frontpage and fails to upload sometimes.
Still getting a blank screen.

www.harnserphoto.com/gallery/
I was using a custom theme.
I'm hosted on globat

I will try uploading the old version and see if i can get that to work.
I'd appreciate any suggestions you could give for troubleshooting the problem
Logged

Fabricio Ferrero

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1996
  • From San Juan, Argentina, to the World!
    • http://fabricioferrero.com/
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2008, 08:56:10 pm »

Quote
OK so i had my site compromised by hackers and in trying to clean out their code I started the upgrade from 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
Sadly you was wrong. Go to: Yikes, I've been hacked! Now what? ;)
Logged
Read Docs and Search the Forum before posting. - Soporte en espaņol
--*--
Fabricio Ferrero's Website

Catching up! :)

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 04:59:09 pm »

Thanks - I'll try this approach. I'd been through the site several times based on time stamps deleting or replacing bad files.
Globat tell us that they've improved their security as I was one of many who had this issue.
Logged

Fabricio Ferrero

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1996
  • From San Juan, Argentina, to the World!
    • http://fabricioferrero.com/
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 05:17:16 pm »

You're welcome,

Don't trust in your hosting company. You just have to keep up to date your coppermine manually and you will be almost 100% safe. Version 1.4.10 it's too old. Every 4 or 6 month a new version comes up. Check the download section (or this forum) frequently and you will be safe. ;)

Regards,
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 09:26:20 pm by Fabricio Ferrero »
Logged
Read Docs and Search the Forum before posting. - Soporte en espaņol
--*--
Fabricio Ferrero's Website

Catching up! :)

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2008, 07:52:28 pm »

Thanks - Step 1 done.
Now I have to fix the theme which will be a challenge I can't see anything in admin - it's all black.
Thanks again.
Logged

Fabricio Ferrero

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1996
  • From San Juan, Argentina, to the World!
    • http://fabricioferrero.com/
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 09:28:19 pm »

My antivirus keeps warning about your web. Please, be sure you have sanitized your web before go ahead.
Logged
Read Docs and Search the Forum before posting. - Soporte en espaņol
--*--
Fabricio Ferrero's Website

Catching up! :)

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2008, 10:28:08 pm »

Thanks Will check again
Logged

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2008, 10:37:31 pm »

If you could help here - is the AV based off the same warning as Google? If so it will still trigger until Google rescans  tonight or tomorrow night. MY work AV is not triggering in Coppermine as it was earlier. So as far I can see currently it should be clean, but I would like to confirm that Thanks
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2008, 11:57:35 pm »

The google warning will remain for some days, even if you have sanitized your site. The last time google performed a scan of your website (2008-11-29, i.e. just one day ago) your website was still infected. Don't trust local anti virus scanners, they're usually not very good on determining infested websites. Google provides much better results with their attempt to warn about potentially dangerous sites. This being said: if they still warn about your page, chances are high that your site is still infected and that you haven't thoroughly sanitized your site.
Upgrading alone won't sanitize your page once it was hacked and infected. Read the "Yikes"-thread that Fabricio refered to and do exactly as suggested there.
Logged

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2008, 02:41:10 am »

Everything is clear on the google scan so the last sanitizing I needed was the coppermine install.
Thanks
Logged

Fabricio Ferrero

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1996
  • From San Juan, Argentina, to the World!
    • http://fabricioferrero.com/
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2008, 02:54:52 am »

Congratulations! :) Try to uptade Coppermine as soon as a new versions comes up.  ;)

Regards,
Logged
Read Docs and Search the Forum before posting. - Soporte en espaņol
--*--
Fabricio Ferrero's Website

Catching up! :)

harnser

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Upgrade blank screen 1.4.10 to 1.4.19
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2008, 01:46:54 am »

Will do thanks again
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.07 seconds with 19 queries.