Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: HTML5 Slideshow plugin  (Read 2678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« on: July 22, 2017, 04:52:13 pm »

Updated version of slideshow plugin for CPG1.6.x only.
See CPG 1.5 version

Update: Version 1.4.2, 2017 Dec 17
  Overlay Title/Caption with font size adjust
  Storage changes for configuration

Update: Version 1.4.3, 2018 Aug 21
  Play some videos as part of slideshow
  Improved touch swipe actions

Update: Version 1.4.4, 2018 Oct 4
  Correct issue causing failure to create new albums when using mySQL 5.7
« Last Edit: October 05, 2018, 05:12:42 am by ron4mac »
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2018, 02:51:23 pm »

The HTML5 Slideshow plugin has been updated to be able to play some videos (within the capabilities of the particular web browser) as part of the slideshow.
Also, touch/swipe action has been improved; including swipe up/down to go to beginning/end of show.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2018, 06:31:06 pm »

Just replaced the version in my 1.6 test and the up and down swipe will obviously be useful, and appears to work well. Very good!!

One question, if you start browsing intermediate images in a gallery (I'm using my mobile at the moment) and get to, say, the 4th image, then click the HTML5 slideshow button, it starts at the first image. Would it be possible to start it at the intermediate image you are viewing instead?

Sharpo.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2018, 07:14:40 pm »

Would it be possible to start it at the intermediate image you are viewing instead?

That's been requested before along with exiting the slideshow to the current image. Both are problematic, but I'll look into it again when I have time.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2018, 07:35:22 pm »

That's been requested before along with exiting the slideshow to the current image. Both are problematic, but I'll look into it again when I have time.
Thanks for reply.

Hope I'm not being too annoying coming up with these little things that cross my mind, but I have set up mine to display the intermediate image - which is adequate for a mobile phone and reduces data use, but if viewing on a tablet the intermediate image does look rather small. What would be useful is if there was an option for the person viewing to select intermediate or full-size, according to the device they are using, or if it detected automatically as with theme switch to display according to whether mobile or tablet/pc being used.

Sharpo.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2018, 02:18:46 am »

A problem I've just noticed. Viewing my 1.6 test site on a tablet and using the plugin, if there is a title or description - it cuts off the top of the image. I only noticed it because my copyright was disappearing on some images and not others, as the image was not moving down the page to accommodate any lines of text, the title or description.

http://www.sharpo.co.uk/cpg16test/index.php

Sharpo.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2018, 04:18:43 am »

Viewing my 1.6 test site on a tablet and using the plugin, if there is a title or description - it cuts off the top of the image.

The text area (title/description) should be a partially transparent background with the new version. You may need to reset the text area background color for the opacity to get set. I could probably make it an option to overlay the text at the top of the image (or not). The reason for the change is because I don't like the inconsistent position of the image depending on whether there is and how much text.

You seem to like small sized images in your gallery.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2018, 10:55:57 am »

Ron, I know what you mean about the image jumping up and down according to lines of text, I don't like that either.

I have now set it to show the fullsize image without text, which makes it much better if using a tablet or pc - but a bit of overkill if using a mobile, as image has to be shrunk so much and of course much higher data usage.

I don't know if it's the same on all mobiles, but I can get an image to fill the screen more on a mobile with lightbox than with this plug in, as the browser bar etc. will not hide, which can be done with lightbox if you "stretch" the image.

I have to admit to being rather confused as to which option to choose, - such as show text or not, intermediate or fullsize - but I think the swipe left/right/up/down function is great for mobiles.

A confused Sharpo!
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2018, 01:11:06 am »

Looking at the options, I tried displaying in new pop-up window - and it looked very good. Then when I tried a different album I could not get it to go full screen, it did not appear to be in a pop-up window and had the url box etc showing above it. I'm using chrome at the moment on my mobile, as Firefox has really gone mad since I added a film strip.

After much messing, I did get it to go in a pop-up window again, but only by resetting the pop-up option to "off", the giving it a "tick" and trying it again. Leaving the settings as they are, the pop-up refuses to work.

Tried it with chrome on tablet. Above the image there are 6 little icons plus the one for pop-up window, but on the mobile there are only 4 icons and nothing for pop-up. I have also tried the mobile with the normal setting as well as the mobile setting. The thumbnail columns change between 2 and 4 as appropriate, but pop-up refuses to work.

Think I need a good night's sleep Ron!!

Sharpo.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2018, 01:20:03 am »

Sorry, just noticed, as long as tablet is sideways the pop-up option is there, turn it vertical and it's gone.

I really am finished for the night now!!!

Sharpo.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2018, 07:29:26 pm »

Should the view count increase when viewing images with the slideshow? I was just viewing an album on my tablet and if the view count did alter, it was not by the number of images I looked at.

Sharpo.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2018, 10:34:43 pm »

Should the view count increase when viewing images with the slideshow?

It does not update the view count of any images in the slideshow. The slideshow mechanism takes place in javascript on the client browser. There is little way for the server to know that any particular image was actually viewed.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2018, 12:49:25 am »

It does not update the view count of any images in the slideshow. The slideshow mechanism takes place in javascript on the client browser. There is little way for the server to know that any particular image was actually viewed.
Never mind, but it has always been interesting to see which photos in the galleries have been of most interest to visitors.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2018, 03:24:06 pm »

Now that MiniCMS is ready for 1.6 I have been closer to upgrading some other galleries, one being my 1.5test gallery. As it was several months ago that I first set up a 1.6 test I had forgotten much of what I had been doing, and couldn't work out why the slideshow text was overwriting the image on 1.6 but not 1.5.

Then searching pointed me to this topic (long forgotten) and it all came back to me!! Is there any way to get the text to display below the image? That way the image wouldn't "jump" up and down depending on length of title/description. Just a thought!
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2018, 03:57:05 pm »

See above ..
You may need to reset the text area background color for the opacity to get set.

You need to be using the latest version, but once you get the text background color reset, the text should overlay the image rather than force the image down.

I think there are too many issues with the text positioned below varying height images.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2018, 05:11:03 pm »

Just wondering if there was a .php file I could play with that would enable me to position the text below the image.

Attached are some images that show how it looks. Not too bad on a desktop screen as the text is small, but with a mobile the text overpowers the image. Slideshow is better but a link to video doesn't work, just shows as text. I'm sure you'll understand my concerns. I think I've attached the images correctly.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2018, 05:13:34 pm »

Only 1 photo attached, will try the others
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2018, 07:19:07 pm »

You can try this:

In the plugin file fullSlide.php, at line 81, change this:
Code: [Select]
div#ptext { background-color:<?=$dcolors[2]?>; color:<?=$dcolors[3]?>; font-size:<?=$fntSize?>; position:absolute; z-index:9; }
to this: (adding bottom: 0)
Code: [Select]
div#ptext { background-color:<?=$dcolors[2]?>; color:<?=$dcolors[3]?>; font-size:<?=$fntSize?>; position:absolute; z-index:9; bottom: 0; }
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 278
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2018, 07:35:52 pm »

Just tried it on desktop computer after making the edit, then thought I must have title and description turned off as couldn't see it below the image. Checked settings and it should be showing, looked back again an it's at the very bottom of the screen, not immediately below the image.

http://sharpo.co.uk/cpg16test/index.php?cat=2

If you follow above link you'll see what the slideshow does now.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
One of my galleries, started in 2007 and with over 8,000 images, has just been upgraded to 1.16.04 and includes a mobile theme.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/
The other has around 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: HTML5 Slideshow plugin
« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2018, 08:53:10 pm »

Sorry, Sharpo ... it's just not going to work that way as currently designed. There is too much architecture in the background that loads the images in a way that minimizes loading delays. And text that moves up and down with images that are not all the same height is distracting to me. I'd rather always have to look at the same spot to read text that goes with the images ... especially with a playing slideshow.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 23 queries.