Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update  (Read 3462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« on: September 21, 2015, 03:23:19 PM »

Hello,

Recently the who is online plugin stopped working for some reason. It's stuck at a certain number of users. I tried removing the plugin and installing it again but it only works for a couple of seconds until it's suck again. Not sure of what do about this honestly. Anyone can help?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 11:13:59 AM »

Maybe there aren't more users currently viewing your gallery?
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 04:40:40 PM »

Clearly that's not possible. First of all we never have less than 40 users online. Secondly, we keep stats for the site and we had over 50,000 page views yesteray which isn't possible to reach with 3 users online. Thirdly, there can't be 3 users all day at any moment of the day, not even on a gallery with less users than ours.

I'm reporting this error because I saw a change in the behaviour of the plugin. It's simply stuck at 3 users online (3 registered users and 0 guests?!). I also noticed a similar error when using a php script to display the number of users online. It simply doesn't show the number, although the plugin itself works perfectly.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2015, 05:09:24 PM »

Please try if it works as expected with the plugin version which is bundled with cpg1.5.36.
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2015, 06:50:37 PM »

Yes, I tried that already. No changes unfortunately it's stuck at 1 user online. If I log in it changes to 2 users (1 registered and 1 guest). If no php script is able to display the number of users online I guess there is a much bigger problem that does not depend on the plugin itself. But I wouldn't know where to look at honestly. No error log, also tried debug info and nothing useful comes up. I honestly have no idea of what to do.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2015, 07:34:33 PM »

Please tell me more about the other PHP script you used. As PHP cannot just "check" how much users are online, it always needs to collect and store some data like user ID or IP address while people are browsing your website.
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2015, 07:58:22 PM »

Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2015, 10:21:01 AM »

it's stuck at 1 user online. If I log in it changes to 2 users (1 registered and 1 guest)

Logged in users can be distinguished by their user ID. For guests, all data the plugin has is the IP address. So there's probably some issue while detecting the IP address of the visitor.

Please create a PHP file in your gallery root with the following content:
Code: [Select]
<?php
define
('IN_COPPERMINE'true);
require_once(
'include/init.inc.php');
pageheader();
echo 
'Your IP address: '.$raw_ip;
pagefooter();
?>


Visit that file with your browser and check if your IP address is correct. If you like, please post a link to that file, so we can check ourselves if it detects the correct IP address.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2015, 10:33:05 AM by Αndré »
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2015, 10:32:28 AM »

Thanks. I tried and it gave me a blank page! Bad sign, I guess? lol
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2015, 10:33:22 AM »

Typo, sorry. I just updated the code in my last post.
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2015, 10:39:54 AM »

Uhm, I believe there is indeed a problem detecting IPs generally because the one displayed doesn't match with the one I actually have. You can test it yourself: http://gagaimages.co/testip.php
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2015, 10:41:57 AM »

It also doesn't match my external IP address. Instead, it displays 67.20.55.46, which is an IP address near Detroit (VPS Datacenter, LLC).
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2015, 10:44:09 AM »

Oh so, that's the same IP I got. I'm guessing there is a problem with the server which only my host can fix, right?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15277
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2015, 11:13:40 AM »

Yes, please contact your host. For your information: 67.20.55.46 is the IP address of your server. You can try yourself with
Code: [Select]
ping gagaimages.co
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2015, 03:06:24 PM »

Yeah, I didn't notice at first that it's my server's IP. Thanks for the heads up!
Logged

stex

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Whoisonline plugin doesn't update
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2015, 10:44:25 AM »

Just wanted to let y'all know that the issue is now solved. Ngix was not installed correctly, so my host fixed it! Thank you André.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.073 seconds with 20 queries.