Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Joomla 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel  (Read 31017 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2013, 11:27:22 PM »

ildaniel,

Without access to your Joomla backend, there isn't anything more I can do to help.  For some reason, the login procedure at your site is not creating the 'cookie' needed for the tunnel to operate.
Logged

ildaniel

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2013, 11:41:47 PM »


actually I realize now that the plugin is for joomla 2.5 and not for 3.x, the version that I'm using ......
I'm sorry but I had not read ....
will wait so that you will also test it on 3.x
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #22 on: October 30, 2013, 12:01:03 AM »

actually I realize now that the plugin is for joomla 2.5 and not for 3.x, the version that I'm using ......
I'm sorry but I had not read ....
will wait so that you will also test it on 3.x
The plugin has been developed and tested successfully with Joomla 3.x.
I have not, however, tested it with Joomla 3.x running under PHP 5.4 (as it seems is the PHP version for your site).
I will test it under those circumstances as soon as possible .. probably by tomorrow (30 Oct).
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2013, 01:43:08 AM »

ildaniel,

I tested the plugin on Joomla 3.1.5 running under PHP 5.4.19 without any issue. I have no way to help you further unless you are to let me in as an admin. If it is important enough for you to do that, you can email me a temporary login to the back end that you create for me.  Email to: ronnie(curly_at_sign)rjconline(full_stop)net
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #24 on: October 30, 2013, 02:33:05 PM »

ildaniel,

Thanks for your help in discovering an error with the Joomla! part of this plugin.  Somehow, the version included with the package was an older one that does not work with Joomla! v3.x.  It has been corrected in the original post above.
Logged

bobbritt

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2013, 05:22:12 PM »

Thanks for developing this!

I have a site that is currently using the mehdi bridge solution to link J! 2.5 to CPG1.5.

What wouldhappen if I disable Mehdi and enabled yours?

Will users Galleries still be associate with the correct user?
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2013, 07:56:12 PM »

I'm not totally familiar with the internals of the Mehdi bridge.  But, for example, if you login to J! as "user1" with password "pass1", and can DIRECTLY login to your CPG instance (no bridge active) with the same username and password, then this 'tunnel' method should work.

Please be aware that this method does not provide any visual integration (I think the Mehdi bridge may do that).

If you can point me at the Mehdi bridge (and any modifications you're using), I'll look at it to determine whether any conversion process would be needed.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2013, 08:56:58 PM by ron4mac »
Logged

bobbritt

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #27 on: December 07, 2013, 10:17:28 PM »

Thanks for the prompt reply.

Sure I don't mind showing you our setup. I do have the visualization working as well.

As I understand it, with the Mehdi bridge there are no physical users on the CPG side.

Our website is
http://www.modelersalliance.com/
and the gallery is
http://www.modelersalliance.com/gallery

The biggest problem I have with the Mehdi Bridge is of course, no support.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #28 on: December 09, 2013, 02:57:28 AM »

bobbritt,

I have taken a look at the Mehdi bridge code.  The answer to your question is that, no, you would not be able to simply switch to my 'tunnel' solution and have your users be able to access their files.

It is conceivable, however, that it could be possible with some modifications made to my 'tunnel'.  I'm not sure that it would work and I have no way to test it.  And if you were to try it, you would definitely need to do so with a backup of your site.

My recommendation:  If what you have is working for you, keep what you have (regardless of support).
Logged

bobbritt

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #29 on: December 09, 2013, 03:28:50 AM »

Thank you Ron, the long term plan was to run it till it broke, I'll be back to see ya when it breaks.  :o

If you're interested in testing it out, I could install a sandbox site. Perhaps after the new year.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #30 on: December 10, 2013, 03:39:17 PM »

I decided to look into visual integration of CPG into Joomla!.  Finding that doing so without the use of an iframe was a tougher nut than I wanted to try cracking, I settled on enhancing the CPG plugin for use with a Joomla! menu item wrapper (iframe).  Find the result (v1.1) in the original post above.

A sample 'tunneling' theme is included that inhibits unnecessary buttons (login,logout,contact,etc.). With some CSS tweaks (CPG and Joomla!), I think it would be possible to create a pretty visually clean appearance.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2013, 02:47:16 AM by ron4mac »
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15382
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #31 on: December 10, 2013, 05:08:54 PM »

IMHO we don't need a separate theme, but let the plugin remove unnecessary buttons and styling.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #32 on: December 10, 2013, 05:26:54 PM »

IMHO we don't need a separate theme, but let the plugin remove unnecessary buttons and styling.
Good point, I suppose, André.  But I think I'd rather let the enduser decide what buttons and styling they do or don't want .. and I think that's easiest achieved by use of a custom theme rather than a dozen options in a plugin.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4420
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #33 on: December 10, 2013, 05:58:55 PM »

There is a problem with a few of the current Joomla frameworks not playing well with the wrapper menu item, something users should be aware of when testing.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ildaniel

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #34 on: December 30, 2013, 05:28:52 PM »

hello,
I just installed the new version and the wrapper is very convenient.
a problem with users:
1) if the user is not already registered in commermine, everything ok
2) if the user is already registered in coppermine, I get:
"Failed to authenticate via tunnel (login rejected)"

Is this normal?
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #35 on: December 30, 2013, 05:37:26 PM »

hello,
I just installed the new version and the wrapper is very convenient.
a problem with users:
1) if the user is not already registered in commermine, everything ok
2) if the user is already registered in coppermine, I get:
"Failed to authenticate via tunnel (login rejected)"

Is this normal?

If the user is already registered in coppermine, their coppermine password must match their Joomla! password.

Logged

ildaniel

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Joomla! 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #36 on: December 30, 2013, 06:00:22 PM »

ok perfect,
I'm sorry if you had already written in previous posts or in the readme but my English is pitiful.
I think I'll have to add an alert to warn users about this.
thanks
Logged

sk8connection

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Joomla 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #37 on: February 03, 2015, 07:00:52 AM »

Hi, can it be that the cpg part of your zip Filer version 1.1.1 is wrong? Because i can't install (upload) the plugin on cpg! the joomla plugin works.
Even if i upload it via ftp the plugin shows not up in Coppermine.
Thanks for an answer.

Sincerely sk8connection
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #38 on: February 03, 2015, 07:18:18 AM »

Even if i upload it via ftp the plugin shows not up in Coppermine.
Please review the CPG documentation that describes how to install a plugin. There have been no other such issue.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 614
Re: Joomla 2x-3x to CPG Tunnel
« Reply #39 on: March 21, 2015, 02:14:00 PM »

can it be that the cpg part of your zip Filer version 1.1.1 is wrong?
OMG!!  I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW STUPID I AM SOMETIMES!! :-[

The CPG plugin part was, indeed, just another zipped copy of the Joomla plugin. (how do I do these things :-\)

Please find the corrected download in the original post. My apologies to all who unsuccessfully tried to use this version (1.1.1).
« Last Edit: March 22, 2015, 05:43:05 AM by ron4mac »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.081 seconds with 22 queries.