Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Home-made bridging" with phpBB: less ambitious, easier. Anyone ever tried?  (Read 11537 times)

kubizo

• Coppermine novice

Hi everyone,

I read that all the user IDs get messed up when you bridge and I would really like to avoid that.

I was wondering whether there was a less invasive way to do the same. I'm not an expert and I maybe oversimplifying, but would it be possible to do the following:

1) via phpMyAdmin, create an SQL table within phpBB that replicates usernames and passwords of the cpg users (no matter the IDs, let's not bother about whether they are different or the same in the two apps).
2) In CPG, replace the links to "register" page with links to the phpBB register page
3) Edit the phpBB register page in such a way that it also creates a CPG profile
4) In CPG, edit the login page to also send a phpBB cookie
5) In phpBB, edit the login page to also send a CPG cookie

Am I dreaming? Would this be overly complicated?

Thanks a lot!

K

phill104

• Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
    • Windsurf.me

It really is not an easy task if you already have lots of users in your CPG database. If you have just a few users with uploaded images then you can work out their respective user IDs and edit them in the database manually.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

kubizo

• Coppermine novice

Thanks a lot for the reply!

Here is what I'm going to do:

1) In phpBB, create user profiles for ALL my CPG users. QUESTION: can I just add rows to the phpbb_users table in phpmyadmin? Or should I actually manually register profile by profile?