Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names  (Read 19530 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Molokabill

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« on: September 26, 2006, 01:20:04 AM »

My sysems consists of Coppermine and SMF. The bridge works flawlessly.

However, SMF has a username (the person logs in with) and a Displayname (which is shown on the board). The bridge assumes that I want to use the username for display on Coppermine, which I do not.

Would this be a feature of the bridge, or should it be a choice in the admin area?

Thanks,
« Last Edit: December 07, 2006, 08:17:35 AM by GauGau »
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 01:23:24 AM »

I think it should use the Display name by default. A plugin could then be used to force the username if required.
Logged

agridoc

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 20
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2006, 03:15:04 PM »

I upgraded to CPG 1.4.10 from 1.3.5. CPG was bridged with SMF 1.07. The bridge wizard worked flawlessly after upgrade, however username is used instead of display name. This is a problem as display name is shown in older uploads and display name is the desired.

Nibbler, you mentioned a plugin. Could you please give some more details?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2006, 06:00:15 PM »

This is not a support thread. There is no actual plugin existing. The feature you're looking for doesn't exist, it's only being taken into consideration for future versions.
Logged

agridoc

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 20
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2006, 06:41:09 PM »

Ooops   ::)

Sorry GauGau. There is already a solution in
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=28699.msg152772#msg152772
I knew I had to search the SMF bridging code but this message saved my time.

Could be an option for next release.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2006, 08:17:20 AM »

Committed change to devel branch. Thanks for pointing out that there already is a fix.

Side-note to devs: SMF populates the realName no matter what, and they perform checks to keep them unique. That's why adding this feature shouldn't cause problems.
Logged

agridoc

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 20
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: Bridge (SMF) feature: choose between names
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2006, 10:00:12 AM »

Also this solution is very simple (just a field change) and is compatible with the way SMF and bridged CPG worked. I tried it and works.

If SMF uses display names it could cause confusion to have usernames in CPG. Having the option in bridge wizard is the best solution. Thank you GauGau.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.068 seconds with 19 queries.