forum.coppermine-gallery.net

Support => cpg1.5.x Support => cpg1.5 miscellaneous => Topic started by: Walkinman on November 26, 2011, 04:14:43 am

Title: Increase keyword character limit
Post by: Walkinman on November 26, 2011, 04:14:43 am
hey Folks,

In response to this thread:

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,73899.msg356307.html#msg356307

I thought I'd post and see if someone might help explain this? I searched around for the answer to do this, but couldn't find the thread André mentions. What I want to do is increase the number of keywords cpg allows me to enter via the 'edit files' function. I use embedded IPTC data so the # of keywords I have per image is almost always greater than cpg allows me to edit, so I can't change anything without deleting some in the keywords box, which I don't want to do. I just want to be allowed to add more.

Any assistance is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Cheers

Carl
Title: Re: Increase keyword character limit
Post by: Αndré on November 28, 2011, 11:27:10 am
I searched around for the answer to do this, but couldn't find the thread André mentions.
I just found the thread in the German support board: http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,73706.msg354951.html#msg354951

Translation:

1. In the database, increase the character limit for the column "keywords" in the table "pictures" (e.g. to "VARCHAR(512)").

2. Open edit_one_pic.php, find
Code: [Select]
<input type="text" style="width: 100%" name="keywords" maxlength="255" value="{$CURRENT_PIC['keywords']}" id="keywords" class="textinput" />and increase the value for "maxlength" (e.g. to 512):
Code: [Select]
<input type="text" style="width: 100%" name="keywords" maxlength="512" value="{$CURRENT_PIC['keywords']}" id="keywords" class="textinput" />
3. Open editpics.php, find
Code: [Select]
array($icon_array['keyword'] . $keywordLabel, 'keywords', 0, 255),and increase the last value (e.g. to 512):
Code: [Select]
array($icon_array['keyword'] . $keywordLabel, 'keywords', 0, 512),
Title: Re: Increase keyword character limit
Post by: Walkinman on November 29, 2011, 12:57:04 am
hey André

Ahh, great, thanks. I'll do that easily enough. Except the database part; tha's via phpMyAdmin correct? I'll have a look and see how I go.

Thanks again.

Cheers

Carl
Title: Re: Increase keyword character limit
Post by: Walkinman on November 29, 2011, 03:57:18 am
hey André

Got it, thanks so much.I didn't have to do anything in the database, I think I had actually already changed that in an earlier version of cpg, then lost the changes in the 2 files you specified below in an upgrade. So it's allowing me to change edit the keywords via "edit files" now.

Thanks so much for your help.

Cheers

Carl