Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge  (Read 6306 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

savagecreature

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« on: June 15, 2014, 10:14:33 am »

click on log-in on in the gallery, takes me to log-in for phpBB but doesn't go back to gallery.

I have read all the threads I can find about this problem and tried everything they recommended that I could understand with no success. I have read the documentation on bridging and tired it twice, having to gain access to the bridge manager through "what to do if it breaks" process. The threads I have read indicate that it's a cookie problem, but I don't know enough about cookies to hunt it down and fix it. (if that's what it is)

Thank you for your patience and assistance.


Coppermine install: http://rebeldroids.net/gallery
Bridging app install: http://rebeldroids.net
Coppermine version: cpg1.5.28
Bridging app version: phpBB ver. 3.0.12
Test user account: galleryTester / galleryTester1  <--This is a phpBB account, right? 'cause you can't get to the log-in screen of   coppermine?

BridgeManager settings:
Bridge app URL:  http://rebeldroids.net
Relative path to your bridge app's config file:  ../
Cookie name or prefix:  phpbb3_b33ur
Use bridge app custom groups?:  0
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15369
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 01:26:40 pm »

Your board doesn't use cookies but adds a parameter to identify the user:
Quote
http://rebeldroids.net/index.php?sid=53298a99b622fc1bd7f1128568591f8e

I assume this is a phpBB setting. As long as your board doesn't use cookies, bridging won't work.
Logged

savagecreature

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2014, 06:06:04 am »

Thank you for your reply.  I have double checked (and triple) the settings in phpBB and all of them appear to be correct for what I'm trying to do. I contacted my webhost tech support and have them trying to assist with the problem. They provided me with a php info file which is located here:

http://rebeldroids.net/phpinfo.php

in the hopes that you might see either an obvious problem that we can than address or at least confirm that the settings, etc are correct so we can look elsewhere for a solution.

Thanks again for your help.
c.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15369
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2014, 11:40:18 am »

I suggest to read the phpBB docs how to setup phpBB to use cookies. Additionally, I recommend to delete the phpinfo.php file.
Logged

Dion

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine newbie
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • Dion Designs
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2014, 05:41:58 pm »

The board is setting the phpbb3_b33ur_u, phpbb3_b33ur_k, and phpbb3_b33ur_sid cookies properly. One can log in to the board, and they will be logged into the gallery as well. The only time phpBB will not use cookies is if the user has cookies disabled in their browser.

As for the problem at hand, there are two redirect INPUT tags in the login form and there should only be one. This is probably due to a bug in the phpBB theme you're using. Try changing the theme to the default Prosilver theme to see if the login problem goes away.
Logged

savagecreature

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2014, 12:15:32 am »

thank you both very much for your help.

Tech support from the company that does my hosting "set the register_globals to off in php.ini" and this appears to have resolved the problem. It now works and has continued to work.

I have no idea if this was the correct approach or if there are still problems that have yet to be uncovered, but I will move forward assuming the issue has been resolved.

Thank you again for your assistance.
Logged

gmc

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 720
    • GMC Design Photo Gallery
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2014, 04:37:06 am »

Interesting... And I can see how that might be an issue...
With register_globals ON, Coppermine takes some additional actions to clear variables introduced by the setting... I have encountered (in coding a plugin) where it is a little too 'aggressive' and had impact on later use of $_GLOBAL for example...

As register_globals is deprecated (and gone in the latest PHP versions), and I was able to (mostly) code around for my needs, macro preserve security, there hasn't been a change made to address this.

Leave it OFF (assuming no issues with other code) - and I expect you will be fine...
Logged
Thanks!
Greg
My Coppermine Gallery
Need a web hosting account? See my gallery for an offer for CPG Forum users.
Send me money

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15369
Re: Log-in loop with phpBB bridge
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2014, 12:43:46 pm »

Marking as solved.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.016 seconds with 21 queries.