Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: HTML5 slideshow plugin  (Read 35667 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
HTML5 slideshow plugin
« on: February 14, 2013, 04:12:39 am »

Feeling the need for a different image slideshow option, I put together this slideshow plugin.  Fullscreen is available for capable browsers.

Comments and suggestions welcome.

Those finding issues, please include platform/browser information in your post.

Changelog
v1.3.9 update
   Failure when running under PHP7 corrected
 
« Last Edit: July 18, 2017, 03:17:42 am by ron4mac »
Logged

envisioneer

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2013, 10:26:54 am »

I really like this - was looking for a flexible full screen viewer/slideshow plugin. Am just working through it to tweak for my theme. Only issue found so far is full screen toggle doesn't do anything other than change the button icon once only. Further clicks do nothing at all, no js (or any) errors generated in console, no change on display. Using Win7x64/Moz FF 18.0.2.

Will post back with any other stuff found if relevant.

cheers for this!
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2013, 03:37:33 pm »

envisioneer,

Thank you for the feedback.  I put together a VirtualBox with Win7 and FF18.0.2.  I do see what you mean about the fullscreen.  Fullscreen does seem to work by use of the <tab> key though (at least for me).  I'll see if I can get it worked out before v1.0 ... which I expect to submit in a few days.

Cheers to you!
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Updated to version 1.0
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2013, 08:29:55 pm »

This plugin has been updated to version 1.0.  It is, hopefully, stable at this point.

v1.0 changes
   Tightened up much of the code and squashed a bug or two.
   Resolved an issue with Firefox fullscreen (thanks, envisioneer).
   Implemented the option to run the show in a new (popup style) window.

Further development goals
   CSS3 transitions and filter options
   Ability for album owners to set slideshow settings on a per album basis

Enjoy!
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1323
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2013, 08:33:56 pm »

I updated your original post with this info (you should have that ability?). Thank you for your contribution.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

envisioneer

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2013, 07:27:34 pm »

Gave v1.0 a whirl - works great out of the box apart from plus button on timer - but commenting out docLog() in slideshow.min.js sorted that (left over debug code?).

I have tweaked this to act as a viewer i.e. display correct slide direct from thumbnail, added a link to rate/comment from slideshow nav etc. Took a wee while to get it all working again due to code changes in v1.0, but all fine now.

For myself I'd like to have captions in full screen and some way of getting the rate button link to update in js as slide changes. Looking at the showpiece at html5rocks.com, the possibilities seem awesome! I especially like this one!

thanks again for a lightweight piece of kit that promises so much possibility. Need to get back to the real job now...
Logged

envisioneer

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2013, 04:47:33 pm »

Thanks for PM - unfortunately I'm not privileged enough to reply in kind (No PM rights).

Some way of persisting the pic array across slide changes would be great - as all the required info is stored in it, but haven't been able to reference it after slideshow inits. Don't know if SuperCage allows $_SESSION vars either?

Only just started using Coppermine so bit of a noob where the API is concerned.

Logged

cottage

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2013, 09:50:34 am »

This is really great!

One question: the slideshow appears to load the full size image. Is there any way of forcing it to load the intermediate pictures?

Cheers
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2013, 02:22:08 pm »

This is really great!

One question: the slideshow appears to load the full size image. Is there any way of forcing it to load the intermediate pictures?

Cheers

Glad you like it.  I'm hoping to find time to do more work on it.  Among the reasons that I decided to write it are 1) I'm not an Adobe fan and 2) the native CPG slideshow is a tad anemic.  My goal was to create a slideshow that would fill the screen with good quality images.  Intermediate images will likely not work well towards that end.  The quality of the intermediate is often inferior to the original and, in many cases, the intermediate images may not yet exist and the server will need to create them in the middle of the slideshow.  So it's nothing that I plan on pursuing.

[== edit ==]

After actually investigating, I seem to have been wrong about the existence of the intermediate images.  And you should be easily able to modify the plugin to use them.  Make the following change to the fullSlide.php file:
Code: [Select]
change line 22 from this:
'fpath'=>$row['filepath'].$row['filename'],

to this:
'fpath'=>$row['filepath'].'normal_'.$row['filename'],
Not sure if any image height issues may crop up, but that should work for you.

I'll consider making it an option in my next release (where options will hopefully be settable on an album by album basis).

Thanks for your feedback.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2013, 09:23:15 pm by ron4mac »
Logged

mitko

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 112
    • World of Lighthouses
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2013, 05:42:33 pm »

Hi there! Got error trying to run slideshow
Fatal error: Call-time pass-by-reference has been removed in /home/mitko/webapps/htdocs/photos/plugins/html5slideshow/fullSlide.php on line 17
Tried on Chrome 26.0.1410.64
IE just gives blank page

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2013, 06:43:08 pm »

Hi there! Got error trying to run slideshow
Fatal error: Call-time pass-by-reference has been removed in /home/mitko/webapps/htdocs/photos/plugins/html5slideshow/fullSlide.php on line 17
Tried on Chrome 26.0.1410.64
IE just gives blank page

replace line 17 in fullSlide.php:
Code: [Select]
$rowset = get_pic_data($album, &$count, &$album_name);
with:
Code: [Select]
$rowset = get_pic_data($album, $count, $album_name);

My apologies ... a mistake on my part.  I'm surprised that it had not reared it's ugly head until now.

I'll be releasing a new version in a few days that allows each user to set slideshow settings for their albums on a per/album basis as well as a default for themselves.

Thanks for your feedback.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2013, 02:53:18 am by ron4mac »
Logged

mitko

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 112
    • World of Lighthouses
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2013, 12:41:21 pm »

Working now, thanks very much for your support and two such a great plugins!

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2013, 02:04:08 pm »

Working now, thanks very much for your support and two such a great plugins!

Glad it is working for you now. Thanks for the feedback.

Love your "World of Lighthouses" site!  It points out to me, though,  that I need to handle bb codes in image descriptions :-\  Will be in the next version (later this week).
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2013, 02:32:07 pm »

A new version (1.1) has been added to the original post.

HTML5slideshow plugin for Coppermine Photo Gallery
================================

Version 1.1 Release Notes:
-----------------------------

Users of prior versions of this plugin should uninstall those versions before installing this one.

An extra field is added to both the 'albums' and 'users' database tables to allow storage of slideshow settings.
A plugin configuration item determines whether users may set their own album's slideshow settings. If enabled, when
a user runs their slideshow, there will be a 'gear' icon in the upper right of the slideshow screen. Clicking that
icon will allow them to set various parameters for that particular album slideshow, as well as their own default slideshow
parameters.

Order of precedence for slideshow parameters is:
CPG Site Settings  <--  User Default Settings  <--  Album Specific Settings


When uninstalling this plugin, an option will be provided to keep user and album settings in the database.

« Last Edit: June 29, 2013, 05:17:29 am by ron4mac »
Logged

mitko

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 112
    • World of Lighthouses
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2013, 03:37:01 pm »

Thanks for update, installed, among all other nice changes bbcodes are working now :)

PatCPG

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2014, 05:04:18 am »

My apologies for resurrecting an old thread, but this question applies to the plugin.
Is there any way to make the slideshow randomize the photos?

Truly an awesome plugin - this is good stuff!
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2014, 09:21:29 am »

Is there any way to make the slideshow randomize the photos?
I've been procrastinating doing more work on this plugin. Having the option of presenting the images in a random manner is something that is doable and a decent idea. I'll try to work on the plugin this week, adding that and some other things I want to implement.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2014, 07:09:32 pm »

Is there any way to make the slideshow randomize the photos?

Slideshow shuffle has been added to the updated version (1.2) included in original post.
Logged

shankscomp

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #18 on: December 13, 2014, 11:33:52 pm »

This is a very nice plugin.  I like it.  Question is, how can I add a banner ad below or above the image?  Or add some text info or clickable links above or below the image that is being shown?

Thanks
Logged

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 706
Re: HTML5 slideshow plugin
« Reply #19 on: December 14, 2014, 02:06:02 pm »

Question is, how can I add a banner ad below or above the image?  Or add some text info or clickable links above or below the image that is being shown?
The reason that I created this slide show plugin was to focus on the images only, viewing them as large as possible with no other distractions. There is no, and likely will not be, any accommodation for what you are asking.

On a per image basis, you should be able to add a BBCode link in in the image description.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 21 queries.