Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.36 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.34 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: drop down menu listings  (Read 10187 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
drop down menu listings
« on: January 07, 2013, 11:38:26 PM »

I was wondering if there would be a way to set the "edit file" drop down menu to be like the one when we upload an image.

That one makes it so much easier for the members and admins to find the albums in our large gallery

I have included the images to see the listing...would like edit to show like upload
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15212
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 12:31:56 PM »

I also don't like the discontinuity of the album drop down boxes at different places. I'll try to fix this as soon as possible. Please reply to this post, as I can maintain such things better in my mailbox.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4281
    • Windsurf.me
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, 03:40:23 PM »

I agree, that would be a much nicer layout.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2013, 12:38:38 AM »

It would be wonderful to have it done so that the drop menus all over concerning the albums were the same...seeing them in the layout chosen vs alphabetical is grand.

Will wait for you and tell the members you are working on it.

Thanks so very much, will you post the "recipe" to edit the files or do another update for the gallery?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15212
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2013, 10:05:00 AM »

I'll try to add it to cpg1.5.22, but I can also post the code changes (or a link to the SVN repository where you'll see what exactly has been changed).
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2013, 10:59:24 AM »

if you posted the file/code to change I could do it here---if not to complicated otherwise yes the link to see what the changes are would be great and then having the update too is wonderful
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15212
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2013, 03:01:07 PM »

The main code change has been committed in SVN revision 8524. I also fixed some minor related things in SVN revisions 8521 and 8522. Unfortunately I haven't found out how to post direct links to the changes in our new SVN web client.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4281
    • Windsurf.me
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2013, 03:28:44 PM »

Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2013, 11:01:53 PM »

wow, what you have done looks very intricate. When will the 1.5.21 update be ready---no rush just curious.

setting the view to side by side I think the one on the left is the original and the one on the right is the edited one, am I safe to assume that the edits if copy pasted into the original will make it so in the gallery, once all edits have been done that is.

Sorry to ask such newbie questions but I am trying to learn...slow at best.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15212
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2013, 11:34:20 PM »

am I safe to assume that the edits if copy pasted into the original will make it so in the gallery, once all edits have been done that is.
That's how it is supposed to work.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2013, 11:40:42 PM »

yay, then when you get done with edits -- if no upgrade yet -- then I can attempt to do the edits to our gallery...lol

atempt being the key word.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15212
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2013, 08:04:29 AM »

Unless someone finds a bug, those edits are final regarding this issue.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2013, 10:38:35 AM »

ok, thanks for letting me know. I will do the edits in our test gallery over the weekend.

You have a great weekend.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2013, 08:05:10 PM »

It's me again.....I got an error:

Critical error
There was an error while processing a database query

now I may have not done the right code.

was I supposed to do the entire edits from the 1st link or the last link which had only the first section of edits and none of the rest.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2013, 08:05:49 PM »

forgot to add that most of the albums work just a few are getting that error.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 08:21:29 PM »

well after beating myself up I found my error came out of operator malfunction...I forgot to update the database. You would thing after doing the update and edits to 3 galleries I would have remembered that...lol

I did the edits from the 3rd link and also the manual edit for comment notifications to member when they get a comment on their images

Thanks again for this touchup, it looks grand and I am sure the members will like the continuity of the lists.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2013, 12:31:20 AM »

OK, me again

I have always claimed the gremlins reside in my forum and it may be true!

Problem:

Everything worked grand immediately after the editing (I did the new gallery update too prior to editing) the lists were showing in category style for members and admins.


TODAY:

got many pm's and answer to my thread at my forum of change and the regular members (which are allowed to post in all but 1 album category due to  age restriction and must be manually added)

was informed that sometime later the entire list disappeared totally for them -- leaving only the choice for uploads as their own personal gallery only.

I ran update database numerously and still the listing did not show all albums at all (I have a non admin account to use for checking), admins (with and without showing admin controls) still saw all but not members


I then redid the functions, original file to revert. Got normalcy but then did this to the edits:

from your first link:

original has:

Code: [Select]
$result = cpg_db_query("SELECT c.cid, c.rgt, c.name FROM {$CONFIG['TABLE_ALBUMS']} AS a RIGHT JOIN {$CONFIG['TABLE_CATEGORIES']} AS c ON a.category = c.cid WHERE c.cid = " . USER_GAL_CAT . " OR a.owner = ". USER_ID . " ORDER BY lft");

your edit:
       
Code: [Select]
        $result = cpg_db_query("SELECT DISTINCT c.cid, c.rgt, c.name FROM {$CONFIG['TABLE_ALBUMS']} AS a RIGHT JOIN {$CONFIG['TABLE_CATEGORIES']} AS c ON a.category = c.cid WHERE c.cid = " . USER_GAL_CAT . " OR a.owner = ". USER_ID . " ORDER BY lft");


original is lacking the word "DISTINCT"

I reverted it to original then left the other two edits in the file.

so far one of the members has reported that she sees the listings in categorized order (like upload area) so am tentatively awaiting to see what they say.

will keep you informed of the progress but hope that will work now.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15212
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2013, 09:19:07 PM »

Can you please post a test user account so we can have a look at your gallery, how it's structured and so on? I added the DISTINCT because I got some category dupes (causing album dupes) in the list. Maybe I haven't looked close enough at the entire code, but as we just select category values in that query, I supposed that we don't need category row dupes. At least it fixed an issue I had in my testbed.
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2013, 03:27:25 AM »

regular member or admin...should I pm you the information?
Logged

heavensportal

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
    • The Fantasy Attic
Re: drop down menu listings
« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2013, 07:37:11 AM »

I have waited to see if you wish to be pm'd the test account information but went to your profile and see no way to do so, sorry.

In order to view the forum -- it is accessible to all to view but nothing else: http://thefantasiesattic.net/attic/cpg/index.php

Please let me know if that is what you wanted.

I have been having members (the more eyes the better) watch out for dupes anywhere...whether it be albums or images and so far nobody has seen any.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.074 seconds with 19 queries.