Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x  (Read 39679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Timos-Welt

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 800
    • Timos-Welt
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #40 on: May 07, 2009, 03:36:45 pm »

that's why I toyed with the idea to completely rely on the config option for the background color and create jpg files in the first place, as an alternative.

JPG files will not work for themes with a thumb background that is not a solid color. It could be an option, but should not be the usual way the plugin works.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #41 on: May 07, 2009, 10:25:37 pm »

I agree, PNG is the file format of choice, only with a fallback option for jpg.
However, the idea to make the function thumb_rotate_image_create return the dimensions is not a bright idea as long as we don't store the dimensions somewhere. We'd have to keep that in the database. I'm not sure though if it wouldn't be wiser to just use getimagesize each time (on the fly).

@Hein: afaik there should be a warning when you install if you don't have the minimum requirements. Didn't you see a warning when you installed the plugin?
Logged

Timos-Welt

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 800
    • Timos-Welt
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #42 on: May 08, 2009, 10:46:33 am »

Hi Joachim,

getimagesize() should be much slower than storing width and height into the database - we have to query it anyways for each thumb.

I agree with Hein - I really like this plugin, too. Especially because it is something that is currently not available for any other web gallery product that doesn't use flash; it makes Coppermine even more unique. Joachim's work regarding the config screen and the technical realization is extremely well done (compared to mine).

More feature ideas for this plugin:
  • possibility to rotate all thumbs to a fixed angle instead of a random one - as well a nice effect, especially with certain themes
  • use a graphical border instead of a solid color (example)
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #43 on: May 10, 2009, 09:51:10 pm »

@Joachim. No there is no warning if this function is not present. There are only messages saying your apache and php version are ok.

No in-depth check so to speak.
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #44 on: May 11, 2009, 12:47:49 pm »

Reinstalled cpg to the latest build and reinstalled the 1.2 version. It now works except for the background which remain black even when you choose white. I'll play around some more to see if i can make that work.

The rotated thumbs i get do not look like the image in the starting post.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2009, 01:56:26 pm by Hein Traag »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #45 on: May 11, 2009, 09:09:12 pm »

It now works except for the background which remain black even when you choose white.
Happens for me as well. Reason is the imagerotate surrogate that doesn't work as expected.

Logged

Timos-Welt

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 800
    • Timos-Welt
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #46 on: May 18, 2009, 02:06:08 pm »

I just checked out the latest SVN version (2.2) and installed it, and it's really awesome. Joachim: I don't think there's anything left from my initial code - if you like you can remove my name from the files completely. All the kudos belong to you!
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #47 on: May 18, 2009, 03:47:29 pm »

Original author always gets mentioned Timos. Without your effort this plugin would not exist.

But i also downloaded 2.2 and it installs without error, even displays a nice warning about the "imagerotate" function. But when i click the batch-fill cache it links to batch-fill instead of batch-fill.php. And when i click on Home it displays a blank page. Is this something anyone can verify?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #48 on: May 18, 2009, 07:12:50 pm »

I can confirm your observation on one of my testbeds. Seems like I'm causing too much memory consumption. I'll investigate and keep you updated.
Logged

Timos-Welt

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 800
    • Timos-Welt
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #49 on: December 11, 2009, 02:07:03 pm »

Any news about the current state of this plugin? AFAIK the workaround for missing GD functionality doesn't seem to work. Rounded borders look a bit ugly to me. I found a nice GPL product that could be really useful together with the plugin and would solve the graphic lib problems:

http://phpthumb.sourceforge.net/
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumb_Rotate plugin for cpg1.5.x
« Reply #50 on: December 11, 2009, 05:35:21 pm »

Looks promising
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 22 queries.