Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using ecard as a form  (Read 6542 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tibbyhinze

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Using ecard as a form
« on: October 10, 2007, 04:01:27 pm »

I am trying to create an informal email "art auction" whereby people who cannot make it to the actual auction can register their interest / place their bids  beforehand. I would like to use the ecard function as a way for people to send a form back to me. Therefore the recipient name, recipient email (ie.me) and heading fields would be pre-defined, and there would be extra input boxes for phone number, address and bid offer.I did read somewhere about using "reports" as a form (?) but I really like the idea of using the ecard because it already contains a reference to the image of interest after people have browsed the online gallery. We are trying to go Live in a couple of days, so any help is greatly appreciated...I'm not a coder! (obviously?!)

Many thanks!
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Using ecard as a form
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2007, 05:41:10 pm »

That's why someobody told you to use the reports. In fact, the report form is identical to the ecard in every aspect except for two things:
  • When using the report, the visitor can not choose the recipient - the report goes to the gallery admin no matter what. Ideal for your purposes
  • The report already contains additional fields that you need. Ideal for you as well
All you have to do are some cosmetical things: just edit your language file and change some of the words that relate to the report - don't name it "report to admin", but "bid for auction". Rename the labels for the fields as well. That's about it.

Just try it for yourself and temporarily enable the "report to admin" feature in coppermine's config. Then browse your gallery to see the difference.
I attached some screenshots for you as well.

The difficult thing is if you want to accomplish more fields on the report form (or "auction bid form" if you prefer); you'll have to code them in manually, which requires intermediate coding skills.
Logged

tibbyhinze

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Using ecard as a form
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2007, 09:14:39 am »

Many, many thanks for the clarification, and for pointing me to where the various files "live"...  I've managed to set things up and all is working well!

Just two more questions(!) - in order to activate the "send report" function, ecards need to be activated (under groups)  as well, yes? I want to keep things as simple as possible and just have the "send report" button - is this possible?

And is it possible to add the actual title underneath the image when it is received by admin? Do I add something like $pic_title = $row['title'];  ? (I'm not sure where?)

Thanks again, I am trying my best to learn! ::)
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Using ecard as a form
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2007, 10:00:22 am »

in order to activate the "send report" function, ecards need to be activated (under groups)  as well, yes?
Yes
I want to keep things as simple as possible and just have the "send report" button - is this possible?
Yes, just remove the ecard link from your custom theme.

And is it possible to add the actual title underneath the image when it is received by admin? Do I add something like $pic_title = $row['title'];  ? (I'm not sure where?)
Yes, that is possible as well.
Logged

AngieKay

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Using ecard as a form
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 06:56:00 pm »

I have done as mentioned in this thread, modified Report to Admin form and used this as a new form.  Now I would like to remove the ecard link/icon.  I followed the directions in this thread and on other thread for removing that link, and I cannot find the code anywhere.  I'm using CG 1.4 with the Fruity theme .  I have looked for this string of code below, and absolutely cannot find it:

<td align="center" valign="middle" class="navmenu" width="48"><a href="{ECARD_TGT}" title="{ECARD_TITLE}"><img src="images/ecard.gif" width="16" height="16" border="0" align="absmiddle" alt="{ECARD_TITLE}"></a></td>

If you could please help me to know where in my file manager to find this code in the Fruity theme, or where the image link for ecard is, I would be grateful.  Thank you.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4454
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Using ecard as a form
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2011, 09:26:09 pm »

Support for 1.4.x has ended last year. If you are still using 1.4.x then please upgrade to 1.5.x. If you are using 1.5.x alread then please post in the correct boards and post a link to your site so we can investigate.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 20 queries.