Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Backup: backup and restore the database  (Read 137754 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MatthewSchenker

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database (experimental)
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2007, 03:45:42 pm »

This seems like a great plug-in.  But I am having a problem.

When I run the backup, I get this error:

ERROR !

No table selected. You have to select at least one table.



I get this error, even when I have this selected:

Click for select all teh tables

Please help!
Logged

Brane29

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database (experimental)
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2007, 04:00:31 pm »

One question before i use this. I have installed CPG in the same database as joomla, with diferent table prefix. Will this backup onely cpg1410_ prefix or whole database.

Thanx
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database (experimental)
« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2007, 08:10:02 am »

Quote
Will this backup onely cpg1410_ prefix or whole database
You can choose the tables you want to backup
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database (experimental)
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2007, 08:33:07 am »

Frantz.. when is the experimental bit going to be erased from the plugin name ? I think it has proven itself by now  ;)
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database (experimental)
« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2007, 10:27:10 am »

Hein, you're right, but i know that the plugin don't work with some webservers. The users must test it befor using without other backup possibility
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

MatthewSchenker

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database (experimental)
« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2007, 03:12:25 pm »

Frantz.. when is the experimental bit going to be erased from the plugin name ? I think it has proven itself by now  ;)

Did you see my post above?  Clearly, there are still problems with this plug-in, as my experience shows.  Also, I don't see any answers on how to fix the problem.  So it does seem to be experimental.

The word "experimental" should remain in the name until the problems are fixed, don't you think?
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2007, 06:33:40 pm »

Quote
Did you see my post above?
yes !
Quote
Clearly, there are still problems with this plug-in, as my experience shows
as i said befor, i know that the plugin don't work correctly on some intallations.
It's difficult for me to find how to fix your problem my knowledge in programming are limited (it's not my job)
also, if a real codder  can have a look he is welcome....
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

MatthewSchenker

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2007, 06:42:30 pm »

...i know that the plugin don't work correctly on some intallations.

That's why I think it's still "experimental."  The support people here in this forum, like GauGau, get angry at newbies who complain when an "experimental" plug-in causes problems.  And yet, you want to stop calling something experimental, even when it causes problems.

From a support perspective, it seems better if you kept a plug-in listed as "experimental" until it isn't so buggy.

Thank you for your help.  I appreciate it!
Logged

will

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 263
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2007, 08:00:15 pm »

Just installed this and it works great ;D
Logged

MatthewSchenker

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #29 on: June 29, 2007, 02:53:09 pm »

It seems like this works well for some people.

Can someone who got this plug-in to work please comment on the errors I am receiving.  For convenience, here is a description of what happens...

When I try to use the backup plug-in, I receive this error:

ERROR !

No table selected. You have to select at least one table.



This error occurs even when I have selected all the tables:

Click for select all teh tables



Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I do want to have a reliable way to do gallery backups.
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #30 on: June 29, 2007, 02:58:27 pm »

Matthew could you please grow some patience. Your asking for support but forgetting that none of us is getting paid to do it. So do not count in days before expecting a answer but rather in week(s).

And you are forgetting to add some details in your request which might help Frantz to get a fix. Details such as where are you hosted ? What is the url to your site ? Did you ask your hoster if there are any restrictions on your access to mysql. The more details the sooner a answer might present itself.
Logged

MatthewSchenker

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #31 on: June 29, 2007, 03:11:21 pm »

Hein,
Just trying to keep the conversation on this topic going, since I'm sure other Coppermine users are also interested in this.

My Web host is Charlottezweb.  I have not experienced any other mysql limitations from them.  I run mysql backup utilities on other software, such as SMF.  But maybe there's something different about the "backup and restore" utility on CPG?

PS: I'm not sure what you mean by "grow some patience."  I really don't understand why the experts around here are so unfriendly.
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #32 on: June 29, 2007, 04:15:54 pm »

Quote
ERROR !

No table selected. You have to select at least one table.


This error occurs even when I have selected all the tables:

Click for select all teh tables
did you try with one or two selected tables ?
As said befor by Hein, it's difficult to help someone without more détails. I've installed the plugin on three differents servers without problems. I cannot replicate your error  :-\
it's possible you have a server restriction....
Quote
I really don't understand why the experts around here are so unfriendly.
Hein is'nt unfriendly, he just explain why you don't have a response at your problem
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

MatthewSchenker

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #33 on: June 29, 2007, 04:21:55 pm »

Frantz,
It does not give me the option of selecting just one or two tables.  The only option I have is:
Click for select all teh tables

That might indicate an issue.  Maybe I need to re-install this and try again?

PS:  Where I come from, telling someone to "grow some patience" is unfriendly.  But never mind.
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #34 on: June 29, 2007, 05:14:17 pm »

Quote
That might indicate an issue.  Maybe I need to re-install this and try again?
Yes it's a good idea
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #35 on: June 29, 2007, 05:46:52 pm »

OK, I'll have a look at the plugin.

Frantz, the original XTDump-Site appears to be down. All I could find when googling for it was a modified version 0.5. Do you have a more recent unmodified version of XTDump available?
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #36 on: June 29, 2007, 06:47:38 pm »

GauGau,

Thank's for looking in this plugin, I'll look if i have the original script (my computer crash and some files are lost  :-\)
I've found a 0.7 version (attached)
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

Brane29

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #37 on: June 30, 2007, 12:22:48 am »

It works great for me. Thanke you.
Belove is my little contribution to croatian users. I translate this plugin to croatian!
You are fre to put it to plugin lang folder if you think that it's ok!

Greatings to all from Croatia!
« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 12:32:31 am by Brane29 »
Logged

François Keller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: fr
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9093
  • aka Frantz
    • Ma galerie
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #38 on: June 30, 2007, 09:29:34 am »

Brane29,
Thank's for your contribution. Your lang file will be added in the pack asp

GauGau,

Sorry, I have not found more recent XT dump script that the 0.7 version  :-\
Logged
Avez vous lu la DOC ? la FAQ ? et cherché sur le forum avant de poster ?
Did you read the DOC ? the FAQ ? and search the board before posting ?
Mon Blog

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Backup: backup and restore the database
« Reply #39 on: June 30, 2007, 11:56:19 am »

That's fine by me - 0.7 is more recent than the hacked 0.5 version that I was able to find googling for it. I'll look into this next week. Do you have any idea what license the script came with? I'd love to package it with cpg1.5.x if the license fits.

Joachim
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 22 queries.