Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu  (Read 8127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« on: April 06, 2006, 02:18:41 am »

Hey folks,

well, I can't seem to fix the first of my problems since upgrading from 1.4.3 to 1.4.4. I uploaded my preivous theme.php file (from 1.4.3 version) and it fxed most things, but it no longer lists the login option in the menu, or the Home/gallery.

You can see they're missing from the menu items here.

http://www.skolaiimages.com/stock/index.php

As a result I can't login and make changes to my Config.

Can someone suggest how I can fix this? I suppose it's in theme.php, but I can't find how.

Thank you

Cheers

Carl
« Last Edit: June 12, 2006, 04:51:29 pm by GauGau »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 08:02:43 am »

as a workaround, go to your login page by manually enetering the url or by clicking this link: http://www.skolaiimages.com/stock/login.php
Not sure what to recommend in your case to fix this permanently, as we can't see the changes you applied to the code - you might want to zip your theme and attach it to your posting.
Logged

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 08:22:59 am »

Hey GauGau,

Thank you. I'll try that. In the meantime, here's the theme.txt file. If you can help me out getting the login, the home items back on the menu, I'd really appreciate it .. and for some reason "My Lightbox" reverted to "My Favorites". I presume that's something I fix in the lang.php file?

Thanks again.

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2006, 05:36:59 pm »

Hey folks,

I really need to get this issue addressed ASAP. I can login, as per the login.php thing Gaugau mentioned, but that doesn't work for having users login - unless I post something on the site instructing them to do that.

I don't know how to zip the theme.php file, so I attached it as a txt file, I hope that's OK. 

I'd really appreciate some help to resolve this quickly.

I fixed the "My Lightbox" thing.

Thanks.

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2006, 02:11:11 am »

hello Folks,

I've tried and tried but I don't know how to resolve this. The "Home" link, along with "login" aren't listed. If I login, everything seems to work fine, until I log out again.  If someone wouldn't mind looking at this, or at least making a suggestion as what I might try to fix it, I'd really appreciate it.

the cpg pages start here

http://www.skolaiimages.com/stock/index.php

if you register, you still don't get an option to login.

Thank you.

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2006, 07:19:31 am »

looks like you removed the login link from your custom theme deliberately. Just enter the login page directly into the address bar of your browser (http://www.skolaiimages.com/stock/login.php). What else could we recommend? Looks like a case of over-modification of the custom theme to me.
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2006, 10:48:54 am »

classic theme doesn't work either so I'd suspect a modified themes.inc.php

upgrade to the latest version 1.4.5.
Logged
my CPG sandbox: Version 1.4.18 with modpack running my Tentacle theme:
http://stramm.st.funpic.org/

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2006, 04:35:34 pm »

looks like you removed the login link from your custom theme deliberately. Just enter the login page directly into the address bar of your browser (http://www.skolaiimages.com/stock/login.php). What else could we recommend? Looks like a case of over-modification of the custom theme to me.

Hey GauGau

If I did remove it, it was certainly accidentally, not deliberately. How can I fix this? As I said earlier, it was working fine before the upgrade to 1.4.4, then it started doing this. I know I can enter the url and login for myself, but I want users to be able to login as well.

Thank you.

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2006, 04:37:43 pm »

classic theme doesn't work either so I'd suspect a modified themes.inc.php

upgrade to the latest version 1.4.5.

Hey Stramm,

Thank you. I'll try upgrading. I did change the file listed on the upgrade page that seemed to be causing the most problems. I uploaded an original, new, fresh out of the box themes.inc.php and it didn't fix the problem either.

Thank you.

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2006, 06:37:49 pm »

use a diff viewer to compare your custom theme with a vanilla sample theme to find out what exactly you changed. Then add the missing stuff back in. What else could we suggest?
Logged

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2006, 09:00:58 pm »

Hello GauGau,

I've adjusted a couple of things, and now I have the "home' link up. (showing as "All Galleries). But I can't get 'login' to show.

From the theme.php file, I have this:

Code: [Select]
// HTML template for sys_menu
$template_sys_menu = <<<EOT
          {BUTTONS}
EOT;

// HTML template for sub_menu
$template_sub_menu = $template_sys_menu;

if (!defined('THEME_HAS_NO_SYS_MENU_BUTTONS')) {

  // HTML template for template sys_menu spacer
  $template_sys_menu_spacer ="&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;-&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;";

  // HTML template for template sys_menu buttons
  $template_sys_menu_button = <<<EOT
  <!-- BEGIN {BLOCK_ID} -->
        <a class="sysmenu" href="{HREF_TGT}" title="{HREF_TITLE}">{HREF_LNK}</a> {SPACER}
  <!-- END {BLOCK_ID} -->
EOT;

  // HTML template for template sys_menu buttons
    // {HREF_LNK}{HREF_TITLE}{HREF_TGT}{BLOCK_ID}{SPACER}
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{HOME_LNK}','{HOME_TITLE}','{HOME_TGT}','home_lnk',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{MY_GAL_LNK}','{MY_GAL_TITLE}','{MY_GAL_TGT}','my_gallery',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{MEMBERLIST_LNK}','{MEMBERLIST_TITLE}','{MEMBERLIST_TGT}','allow_memberlist',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{MY_PROF_LNK}','{MY_PROF_TITLE}','{MY_PROF_TGT}','my_profile',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{ADM_MODE_LNK}','{ADM_MODE_TITLE}','{ADM_MODE_TGT}','enter_admin_mode',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{USR_MODE_LNK}','{USR_MODE_TITLE}','{USR_MODE_TGT}','leave_admin_mode',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{UPL_PIC_LNK}','{UPL_PIC_TITLE}','{UPL_PIC_TGT}','upload_pic',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{REGISTER_LNK}','{REGISTER_TITLE}','{REGISTER_TGT}','register',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{FAQ_LNK}','{FAQ_TITLE}','{FAQ_TGT}','faq',$template_sys_menu_spacer);
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{LOGIN_LNK}','{LOGIN_TITLE}','{LOGIN_TGT}','login','');
    addbutton($sys_menu_buttons,'{LOGOUT_LNK}','{LOGOUT_TITLE}','{LOGOUT_TGT}','logout','');
    // Login and Logout don't have a spacer as only one is shown, and either would be the last option.

  $params = array('{BUTTONS}' => assemble_template_buttons($template_sys_menu_button,$sys_menu_buttons));
  $template_sys_menu = template_eval($template_sys_menu,$params);
}

From what I understand, this should work, correct? Is there anything that should be there which is not?

I haven't had a chance to upgrade to 1.4.5 yet, and will hopefully get to that in a few days.

I appreciate your help.

Thank you

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Walkinman

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 371
    • Skolai Images - Nature, Travel and Adventure stock photos
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2006, 02:37:28 am »

Hey Folks,

I had a friend run the upgrade for me, to 1.4.5, and the problem is fixed now. I think the problem had something to do with Fantastico.

Thank you

Cheers

Carl
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2006, 08:36:45 am »

Thanks for resolving your thread. As suggested before many times: don't use Fantastico - it's buggy and oudated!
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
Re: Upgrade problem - can't access login from menu
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2006, 10:22:09 am »

and some more work to do for you... newest version is 1.4.8 and it's mandatory to upgrade
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=32413.0
Logged
my CPG sandbox: Version 1.4.18 with modpack running my Tentacle theme:
http://stramm.st.funpic.org/
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 20 queries.