Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?  (Read 11152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mrandall131

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 34
    • NorthEastATVers
Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« on: January 16, 2006, 05:29:42 am »

Ok, the bridge between coppermine and SMF works great.  Now, the problem I have is that SMF provides a "utility" that allows information from the board to be used on site pages.  Problem is, I can't really use it as the cookie domains differ.  Not many people will leave the www. off when visiting my site.

So, is there anyway to change the cookie domain of coppermine to add the "www." in front of the domain?
« Last Edit: January 16, 2006, 06:38:51 pm by TranzNDance »
Logged
SMF 1.1RC1 - www.northeastatvers.com/forum
Coppermine 1.4.3 - www.northeastatvers.com/gallery
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.northeastatvers.com/graphics/Logo_small.gif)

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2006, 07:40:06 am »

force the www or force the lack of it by adding a bit .htaccess magic like this
Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.your_site\.tld$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://your_site.tld/$1 [R,L]
Logged

mrandall131

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 34
    • NorthEastATVers
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2006, 03:28:35 pm »

You mean that does it for the whole site?  index.html too?
Logged
SMF 1.1RC1 - www.northeastatvers.com/forum
Coppermine 1.4.3 - www.northeastatvers.com/gallery
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.northeastatvers.com/graphics/Logo_small.gif)

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2006, 06:24:57 pm »

Yes
Logged

mrandall131

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 34
    • NorthEastATVers
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2006, 06:33:19 pm »

Thanks guys, really appreciate it!!
Logged
SMF 1.1RC1 - www.northeastatvers.com/forum
Coppermine 1.4.3 - www.northeastatvers.com/gallery
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.northeastatvers.com/graphics/Logo_small.gif)

mrandall131

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 34
    • NorthEastATVers
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2006, 06:41:55 pm »

Ok, here's what I added to the .htaccess file.

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.northeastatvers\.tld$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://northeastatvers.tld/$1 [R,L]

Is this correct?  When I added that and typed in www.northeastatvers.com, it did not change it to northeastatvers.com.
Logged
SMF 1.1RC1 - www.northeastatvers.com/forum
Coppermine 1.4.3 - www.northeastatvers.com/gallery
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.northeastatvers.com/graphics/Logo_small.gif)

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2006, 07:00:23 pm »

Does your host allow rewrite in .htaccess?
Logged

mrandall131

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 34
    • NorthEastATVers
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2006, 07:32:20 pm »

Thanks, opened a ticket with them.
Logged
SMF 1.1RC1 - www.northeastatvers.com/forum
Coppermine 1.4.3 - www.northeastatvers.com/gallery
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.northeastatvers.com/graphics/Logo_small.gif)

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2006, 08:37:29 pm »

Ok, here's what I added to the .htaccess file.

Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.northeastatvers\.tld$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://northeastatvers.tld/$1 [R,L]

Is this correct?  When I added that and typed in www.northeastatvers.com, it did not change it to northeastatvers.com.
Make it
Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.northeastatvers\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://northeastatvers.com/$1 [R,L]
instead and you should be fine - the abbreviation "tld" is short for "top level domain", I was trying to suggest that you change it as well, as I didn't know your domain name when I posted the example.
Logged

mrandall131

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 34
    • NorthEastATVers
Re: Change Coppermine's Cookie Domain?
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2006, 03:16:28 am »

Thanks to everyone.  You guys make it so easy for noobs like me to get this stuff working.
Logged
SMF 1.1RC1 - www.northeastatvers.com/forum
Coppermine 1.4.3 - www.northeastatvers.com/gallery
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(http://www.northeastatvers.com/graphics/Logo_small.gif)
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 20 queries.