Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.46 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter recently discovered vulnerabilities. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.44 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3  (Read 61548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« on: April 19, 2005, 08:24:37 am »

To satisfy the demand of desktop client writers we have hacked a Remote Access API for Coppermine 1.4.x which is very loosely modeled on the Flickr API (in terms of responses etc).

Currently only two methods have been implemented to
#1 Upload a picture
#2 Get Category and Album list with IDs

A PHP client is provided as an example for the devs BUT it is expected that we will soon see desktop clients which can post to pictures directly to your Coppermine install

Read the README to get started :)

[Edit]
We have released a new version with some minor bug fixes.
[/Edit]

[Edit April 20, 2006]
Version 0.4
There was a bug in the debugging module of API. It is now fixed in this version.
[/Edit]

[Edit April 18, 2006]
More changes: Version 0.3
* Allows normal users to upload photos. Reads the User Galleries properly while listing the categories and albums.
* User uploads respects the quotas allocated to them.
[/Edit]
« Last Edit: April 20, 2006, 12:53:56 pm by Aditya Mooley »
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

willdenniss

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine newbie
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9
  • Gallery Mage author
    • Gallery Mage
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2005, 05:30:58 am »

Thanks for adding this feature, I can see how it works and it is certainly possible to utilise this in Gallery Mage.

Before I commit the time to adding this feature, are there plans to add information about these tools in the Coppermine documentation?  I'm willing to author some text if that is all that's needed.  I ask because currently there are few Gallery Mage users who are using Coppermine.  Adding this feature will make Gallery Mage much more useful to Coppermine users than it currently is, but unless Coppermine users know about the existance of the tool, there is little point in me improving it for them.

Cheers,

Will.
Logged
Gallery Mage - Photo gallery processing tool

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2005, 07:00:58 am »

This is an add-on atleast for CPG 1.4.x but if you author a few paragraph we will add it in the documentation as appropriate.
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

Tarique Sani

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2712
    • http://tariquesani.net
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2005, 08:54:51 am »

and like we have said in the README your code will me more or less future proof even for later version - So you can code and be free of worries :)
Logged
SANIsoft PHP applications for E Biz

willdenniss

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine newbie
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9
  • Gallery Mage author
    • Gallery Mage
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2005, 10:23:17 am »

ok, sounds good.

I've found an API that should make the task of submitting data via post fairly easy.  It's then just a matter getting a list of galleries so the user can pick which one to upload to.

I'll put this on my TODO list.  If there are people now who want this support, make sure you let me know and I'll bump it up the list.

Thanks,

Will.
Logged
Gallery Mage - Photo gallery processing tool

Tarique Sani

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2712
    • http://tariquesani.net
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2005, 09:54:11 am »

Most people do not know what Gallery mage will do for their Coppermine when used in addition with the new API... Seems like a chicken and egg situation.

Some of the uses of new API can be

#1 Desktop Upload Client (obvious)
#2 Replicate and keep in Sync a Coppermine Installation with your desktop archieve (the Categories can Albums can be folders in the local system)
#3 Create funky screen savers showing latest pictures from a Coppermine install.
#4 Create Flash based frontends...
#5 Create all kinds of remote access Kool stuff - eg: cpmFetch based on a single API - this frees the application developer from maintaining / writing the access libraries
Logged
SANIsoft PHP applications for E Biz

sigepjedi

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 111
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2006, 09:52:27 pm »

have any updates been made to this, or the available methods"?
Logged

Tarique Sani

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2712
    • http://tariquesani.net
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.1
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2006, 08:01:20 am »

Interest has been very low on this one, hence no further work was done - what methods would you like to see?
Logged
SANIsoft PHP applications for E Biz

r_f_o_t

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2006, 11:49:50 pm »

Hello,

Silly question. Where does the API get installed? There is no README in the tarball.

Thanks

Chuck
Logged

r_f_o_t

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2006, 02:44:08 am »

OK, after some trial and error, figured it out. Just install it someplace in cpg directory, then point koppemine to that directory.

Chuck
Logged

eric.com.my

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 14
  • Eric Chooy
    • Eric's Heaven
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2006, 03:15:23 pm »

OK, after some trial and error, figured it out. Just install it someplace in cpg directory, then point koppemine to that directory.

Chuck

May I know how can I do that?

Thank you.
Logged

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2006, 07:14:27 am »

Download the tarball from the first post, untar in your Coppermine's root directory.
Now, in Koppermine's Host URL use this format -> http://mydomain.com/cpgIntallation/api/index.php
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

ve.ru

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2006, 10:14:56 pm »

Is there an ongoing development on this feature? I am just interested if it is possible to create a new album via this API.
Logged

jonplqs

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2006, 07:33:41 pm »

Download the tarball from the first post, untar in your Coppermine's root directory.
Now, in Koppermine's Host URL use this format -> http://mydomain.com/cpgIntallation/api/index.php

Hi when i try to install I got this error. 

 <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
- <cpg>
  <status>fail</status>
  <error>100</error>
  <verbose>Invalid function name passed</verbose>
  </cpg>

Thanks
Logged

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2006, 07:01:16 am »

Is there an ongoing development on this feature? I am just interested if it is possible to create a new album via this API.
Currently it is not possible to create new albums via API. But we are considering this option and you may see it in next release.
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2006, 07:05:34 am »

@jonplqs
Are you trying to access the API through your browser? API's cannnot be accessed directly. You need API client like Koppermine which allows you to upload/rotate/resize your image directly from your desktop.
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter

jonplqs

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2006, 07:25:31 pm »

ok thanks a lot.
Logged

pax

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2007, 12:33:19 pm »

Currently it is not possible to create new albums via API. But we are considering this option and you may see it in next release.

I'll add my vote to that suggestion :)
Logged

gmichels

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #18 on: January 09, 2007, 05:33:26 pm »

I really don't know what's wrong, but I can't have Koppermine working. My settings and the error after trying to refresh the album list.

(http://i16.tinypic.com/2uygd3s.png)

I'm using Coppermine 1.4.9. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Logged

Aditya Mooley

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 781
    • My Sweet Home
Re: CPG Remote Access API V 0.3
« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2007, 05:56:51 pm »

Please post all the Koppermine related problems on Koppermine's support forum sf.net
Also provide more details like which KDE version are you using and flavor of Linux.
Logged
--- "Its Nice 2 BE Important but its more Important 2 Be NICE" ---
Follow Coppermine on Twitter
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 21 queries.